Skip to content

for the love of tomatoes!

September 18, 2011
tomatoes

breakfast!

 

everyone always called me a picky eater growing up, but i love the way my sister, joelle, puts it… you weren’t picky, you were particular!  i am still particular about things, especially when it comes to fruit sadly.  the texture of most fruits are a no-go for me, and tomatoes USED to be one of them.  that was until i spent a summer in charleston, south carolina for a summer, where fresh tomatoes are a summer staple.  my friend, henslee, gave me my first real introduction to tomatoes through her incredibly delicious tomato pie, that i am still trying to the get the recipe for!  my friend walker’s family had also kind of taken me in as a stray that summer since i was staying in the dorms at college of charleston and had me over for dinner almost every night so that i wasn’t living solely off of pizza and subway 😉  one morning mr. barnes cooked fried green tomatoes for breakfast with breakfast sausage… that’s all there was so i really had no choice unless i wanted to go hungry so i chowed down, and found that i loved them!

when it was time for me to leave charleston at the end of the summer, i bought the barnes’s a book of amazing tomato recipes as a thank you for taking me in and introducing me to such an amazing food!  i now love everything about tomatoes – their colors, their shapes, the intricacies and designs of the insides of gorgeous heirlooms, their names, and of course, their taste!!  i always have tomatoes on hand, but this time of year is when you have to let yourself go a little extra crazy over them since their season is coming to an end.  so go make a tomato pie, some fried green tomatoes (i’ve included my recipe below), some toast with mayo & tomato & fresh ground pepper, or just sprinkle one with salt and take a big bite out of it like my mom does and enjoy them before their season runs out!

 

fried green tomatoes with a lemon aioli

serves 4

3 green tomatoes

2 eggs, beaten

1 cup flour

2 cups rice krispies cereal

2 cups canola oil

1/2 cup canola oil mayo

zest & juice from 1 lemon

1 T olive oil

salt & pepper

 

put the flour, eggs, and cereal into three separate bowls.

slice the tomatoes into 1/2 inch slices.  put the 2 cups canola oil into a large skillet and turn on high heat.  while the oil is heating up, dredge each slice of tomato first through the flour, then the egg (making sure every last inch is coated in egg), then the cereal and set on a plate to the side.  to test the oil’s heat, run your hand under water and lightly sprinkle a few drops into the oil.  if it sizzles, it’s ready.

carefully place each slice of tomato into the skillet and cook on both sides until golden (this will happen rather quickly so don’t walk away).  place each slice on a plate lined with tin foil and a paper towel while you make the aioli.

to make the aioli, mix the mayo, lemon juice, lemon zest, and olive oil together.  season with salt & pepper to taste.

to serve, place the tomatoes on a plate with the aioli in a side bowl and enjoy!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 18, 2011 11:50 am

    I’m definitely a particular eater now… I just used 7 or 8 amazing tomatoes from my garden – they were incredible. Yours look delicious :D. I used to be a picky eater though, its only recently that I’ve really expanded my food eating horizons – it’s all down to my girlfriend. I’m glad it happened.

  2. September 18, 2011 12:48 pm

    i’m so jealous you have so many home grown tomatoes! i was definitely not blessed with a green thumb ;( expanding my food horizons was a direct result of culinary school – once i saw what went into things and was forced to taste everything i made, i found i like many more things than i realized. tomas has also been a great influence on me with foods, he eats just about anything! i’m glad your gf has pushed you to try new things, never stop encouraging her to do so!

  3. September 22, 2011 5:37 pm

    can we have a recipe for some sort of preserved/pickled tomatoes? I have a bunch about to get ripe in the garden then it’s over! 😦 boo hoo!

  4. September 24, 2011 9:37 am

    i know, i’m so sad tomato season is almost over already ;( i will see what i can find about preserving them for you!

Trackbacks

  1. heirloom tomatoes & toast « three blondes and a tomas

Leave a Reply

