Skip to content

the real way to eat shrimp

October 8, 2011
shrimp

grilled, shell-on shrimp

I have always been a huge shrimp fan, but I have to admit that I didn’t know how to truly enjoy them until I met tomas and he made me some shell-on shrimp and made me suck the shells before eating the shrimp!  By cooking the shrimp with the shells still on, it locks in the moisture in the meat, and by sucking the shells before eating them, you get to enjoy all the yummy seasoning and juices from cooking as well… it’s a win-win if you ask me!  These are great to serve as an appetizer.

Serves 4 as a starter

½ lb shell-on (heads on is optional) shrimp

1/8 cup olive oil

½ lime

sea salt

pepper

Start by preparing your grill to high heat.

While the grill is heating up, prepare the shrimp by tossing them in the olive oil and seasoning with salt and pepper.

When the grill is ready, cook the shrimp for 2 minutes on each side, making sure not to cook them much longer than that so they won’t get tough and overcooked.

Place them on a serving platter and squeeze the juice from the lime over them and enjoy!

To eat… suck the yumminess off the shells, then peel the shell off and eat the shimp!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Sharon permalink
    October 8, 2011 2:04 pm

    Yes, they are truly yummy! I beg Tomas to make them!

  2. October 9, 2011 9:32 am

    I totally agree! I had something similar when I went to Spain recently. So delicious when you give their flavour a real chance.

Leave a Reply

