Skip to content

gluten free bread… and it’s delicious!!!!

January 8, 2012

gluten free pantry 1

 

can i just say, thank god!!  i made some gluten free bread tonight from a box mix, and it is actually pretty good… bread, cookies and beer have been three of the things i’ve missed most since going gluten free.  i have my friend, erica, to thank for this wonderful discovery!!  i asked her last week for some advice on good gluten free brands, and she graciously sat down with me and gave me a nice long list!

 

gluten free pantry 2

 

the next day she brought me a gluten free snickerdoodle and a box mix for french bread/pizza… after i read the info on the box i was determined to make it today.  the mix is by the gluten-free pantry, which is part of glutino, a great gluten free brand.  the mix was  developed by a chef/mom who was diagnosed with celiac disease along with her son a few years ago.  after many revisions, she finally came up with a great bread, that you honestly wouldn’t be able to tell is gluten free!  an added bonus to using this brand is that a portion of each box sold goes towards celiac disease research – a increasingly growing field in nutritional science.

 

gluten free pantry 3

 

i must admit, i was a bit wary, but after eating a piece, i am incredibly grateful erica gave me this to try, and for beth hillson, the chef who developed the recipe!!  thanks ladies!!!

 

gluten free pantry 4

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Abby permalink
    January 9, 2012 8:44 am

    I’m going to have to try this! I had to go gluten free about 3 weeks ago and haven’t had much bread since!! Thanks for the post, Sara!

    • January 9, 2012 8:58 am

      hang in there!! being gluten free is definitely a challenge when you’re out, but at home it’s really not so bad. this mix was super easy as well, which makes life so much easier!!

  2. January 16, 2012 4:37 pm

    I don’t have a gluten sensitivity, but one of my close friends does, and I can only imagine how frustrating it is to go without good bread (at least for me, I LOVE my carbs). I’ll have to pass on this recommendation, thanks for sharing!

    Normally I avoid mixes but in this case it makes sense as there are so many flours, starches, etc necessary to come close to replicating the structure provided by gluten. Have you tried out the snickerdoodle cookies yet? This flour mix looks promising too (though expensive) http://www.williams-sonoma.com/products/cup4cup-gluten-free-flour/ , let me know if you try it out!

    • January 16, 2012 5:06 pm

      i normally don’t do box mixes either, but a celiac friend gave this to me to try out… i have since found a few websites that has gluten free bread recipes i intend on trying when i get time 🙂 i had no idea williams-sonoma had gluten free mixes, but if there is a snickerdoodle one i would love to try it! the snickerdoodles i made over christmas were one of the things i couldn’t resist no matter what they made me feel like after!

      my goal is to learn how to simply transform my already tried and tested recipes into gluten free variations and there are a few sites i hope will help me learn how… pass these on to your friend if you like, or try them out yourself and let me know what you think!
      http://www.glutenfreecookingschool.com
      http://www.simplyglutenfreedesserts.com

      • January 16, 2012 8:07 pm

        Thanks for sharing those links! I haven’t tried the cup4cup flour, but the premise is pretty neat, since theoretically you can exchange it for AP flour cup for cup, so maybe try out your snickerdoodle recipe with that? It seems to have pretty good reviews.

Leave a Reply

