Skip to content

the mysteries of gluten free baking

January 17, 2012

i have been searching lately for help with gluten free baking… more importantly, gluten free flours.  what i am finding is a whole lotta obscure info teaching me a whole lotta nothin’.  that is until i found a blog called gluten free mommy.  she actually has a whole lotta GREAT information about different gluten free flours!!

i wanted to share with everyone this great site, and especially this particular post… i’m sure you be seeing tasty recipes from it soon!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 10:28 pm

    What a timely post. I was dealing with this exact issue today. I’m beginning to think my migraines are caused by gluten or dairy, so today I made gluten-free dairy-free muffins. Way too dense. I used a mix of oat flour, brown rice flour and potato starch, recommended by some random site. After the recipe disappointed I looked online again and found another site recommending coconut flour for soft, moist baked goods. Hopefully that helps! Thanks for sharing the links.

    • January 17, 2012 10:42 pm

      I hope it helps! Going gluten free has truly made such a difference in my health already… Although Tomas would say otherwise ;), It has been much easier than I thought it was going to be! Let me know if you ever need advice or need to chat/vent/day dream about gluten!!

  2. January 18, 2012 2:30 am

    Our local supermarket has started stopping gluten free baking products and it’s definitely something that interests me. They have a range of gluten free flours (although it’s limited compared to their normal range) and they have gluten free baking powder and they seem to be adding stock by the day.
    It’s amazing how trend catch on and spread like wildfire.

Leave a Reply

