Skip to content

heirloom tomatoes & toast

July 30, 2012

tomatoes and toast 1

 

summertime tomato season is upon us folks!!!!!  sooooo exciting – this is quite possibly the food season i look forward to the most all year!  i’m sure i’ve confessed my love for these beautiful fruits before, but i don’t think it is possible to sing their praises too much – they are so incredibly beautiful, versatile, and did i mention delicious?!

last night tomas and i went to the lake city farmers market for the first time on an “errand” of sorts for my new internship at crave health in kirkland.  the mission was to walk around the market and design a scavenger hunt that clients will be able to answer and enter to win a prize at the end of the summer.  since yesterday was a grocery shopping day, i saved the produce shopping for that night when we went to the market – excellent decision on my part!  there was stand that sold only tomatoes of all shapes, sizes, and colors!  per usual, these were a bit pricey, but luckily for me, they also had a “seconds” bin of heirloom tomatoes that were “imperfect” so they had been discounted – score!!

 

tomatoes and toast 2

 

i brought home a bag and last night made one of my favorite all time meals – fresh pasta with tomatoes, parmesan, olive oil, basil, s&p – so simplistic, but so freaking amazing that i couldn’t even get a picture taken because i devoured it so fast!!  i guess this just means i’ll be making it again sometime in the near future so that i can write an actual post on it 😉

today for lunch i couldn’t wait to eat the rest any longer so i decided to mix them up with some basil, olive oil, s&p and top them over some wonderfully delicious multigrain bread from manini’s (also a market bought item).  the result was perfectfully simple and summery!

 

tomatoes and toast 3

 

makes 3 servings

2 heirloom tomatoes, chunked

1/4 cup chopped basil

1 T olive oil

1/4 good sea salt

3 pieces toast

3 T mayo

parmesan for sprinkling

gently toss the first 4 ingredients together in a bowl and allow then to sit and meld into each other for 10-15 minutes.  meanwhile, toast the three pieces of toast and put 1 T mayo on each piece of toast.  top each piece of toast with a pile of the tomato mixture and finally, sprinkle with parmesan.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. July 30, 2012 3:41 pm

    I cannot get enough heirlooms right now! This looks like such a perfect summer snack/meal.

    By the way, I relocated my site to wordpress.org and I’m not showing up in the regular feeds any more. I hope to see you over at the new site sometime :}

    • July 30, 2012 9:05 pm

      which feeds are you talking about, mine or your’s? sorry – i’m a bit clueless when it comes to techy stuff 😉

      • July 31, 2012 5:24 pm

        Your feed. WordPress wouldn’t let me keep my mine! I’m not entirely sure if you followed me but since you’ve commented before I thought there might be a chance 🙂

  2. Diane White permalink
    July 30, 2012 8:43 pm

    Oh my that looks so delicious. My tomatoes are coming in like crazy now. Last week I ate a tomato sandwich every day with loads of mayo! This week I will move onto this tasty delight!
    Thanks for this great idea.

    • July 30, 2012 9:07 pm

      so jealous that you have some growing at home! i’ve been eating them everyday almost – i can’t get enough!!

  3. joelle permalink
    August 1, 2012 7:51 am

    The 9 plants I started from seed are getting there, the tomatoes almost turning their colors, there are so many! I wish you could be here to enjoy some. Tomato sandwich on good white bread with real mayo is one of my most fav dishes of the summer, but alas, no mayo allowed now, and all of the gluten free breads seem to have eggs in them too… Any solutions??

    • August 2, 2012 5:41 pm

      I would start by doctoring up some veganase and make an aeoli of sorts with lemon juice, minced garlic, a little olive oil and some basil. As far as the bread part goes, I have to say, I’m at a loss 😦 maybe even sprinkling it all with crushed potato chips might be nice though to get a carb and a little light crunch. Let me know how it works out!!

Leave a Reply

