Skip to content

quinoa with sweet potatoes and kale

November 4, 2012

fall has officially reached our kitchen today… i have a pork shoulder roasting in the oven, brussels sprouts on the stove (both of which will have posts coming soon) and sweet potatoes and kale mixed in with some quiona.  if i have time later i’m also going to make my first gluten free version of my favorite bread in the whole wide world, my pumpkin bread!  even though i feel like i have so many recipes going today, i feel like i haven’t been productive in the kitchen in awhile since i haven’t been posting so i guess i’m making up for my month long absence now 🙂

let’s just say that this term makes me feel like i should have earned a gold medal in time management!  between school, all my boys, interning at crave health and joining forces with miki at ladybug organic kitchen and working on a new project with her, even my friday and saturday nights have turned into homework nights, and by sunday i am in the kitchen cooking for us for the week so i don’t have to worry about food during the school week.  despite not being very personally creative lately, i have made quite a few incredibly yummy recipes from foodgawker and pinterest!  today however, i had to finally put my foot down and allowed myself to have a day in the kitchen doing what i love most… creating yummy dishes!  i can definitely pat myself on the back for these three, i must say – let’s just hope the hubs will feel the same way, he tends to be a bit on the picky side!

this dish will most likely serve as my lunch for the week.  the sweet potatoes and quinoa will ensure i have lots of protein to get me through my long days, and the kale, well what bad things can you say about kale honestly?!  this dish feels like fall to me and i gladly welcome fall textures and flavors!  what are some of your favorite fall dishes?

1 cup quinoa, dry

3 cloves garlic, minced

1.5 cup water

1 sweet potato, peeled and diced

1/2 red onion, diced

1 T fresh thyme, chopped

1 cup chopped kale

salt and pepper

i cook my quinoa like i cook rice… heat some olive oil and the garlic over medium high heat until the garlic starts to sizzle a bit and becomes fragrant.  add in the dry quinoa and toss to coat with the garlic/oil mixture.  allow the quinoa to toast for a minute or two, but keep your eye on it so it doesn’t burn.  add in the 1.5 cups water and bring the water to a boil.  once boiling, cover and bring the heat down to low.  let the quinoa cook, unbothered for about 25 minutes before checking.  when done, fluff with a fork.

while the quinoa is cooking, saute the red onion and sweet potatoes in olive oil (or coconut oil, whichever you prefer) over medium high heat.  saute for 5-10 minutes, then add 1/2 cup water to the pan and cover, bringing the heat down to medium.  allow the potatoes to steam for about 3-5 minutes, or until soft.  take the potatoes off the heat and season with salt and pepper.

to prepare the kale, drizzle with 1/2 t olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.  massage the kale by crushing it in your hands repeatedly so it becomes bright green and a bit softer. (1 minute).

to serve, toss the quinoa with the chopped thyme and the potato/onion mixture, and the kale.  season with salt and pepper and enjoy!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. November 4, 2012 4:18 pm

    I love kale. I’m looking forward to trying this dish!

  2. December 23, 2012 11:47 am

    this sounds delicious, I have a bunch of sweet potatoes waiting to be used, so I think I will try this, but with spinach instead of kale as that is what I have in the fridge!

Leave a Reply

